Not much progress…

…on the stitching front, or at least not enough to photograph yet. However, I wanted to share with you two of my very favorite needlepoint finishes ever.  These are line drawn kimono canvases by Jinice. I started by picking the Watercolours thread and then chose all the other threads from those colors. The Blue Kimono was started first, but finished last.

Blue Kimono

Blue Kimono

CIMG1743 DSCF0047 DSCF0444

I have also included a detail from the blue kimono and my work-in-progress kimono on black canvas. (Which has the potential for displacing the red one as my favorite!)  I have one more Kimono canvas which has not been started. This one is similar to the blue, but faces the other way. It is on sandstone canvas and is done in autumn shades.

I changed the background on both the red and the blue canvases—as charted it was busier, done with metallic threads and accented with beads. However, I wanted the kimono to be the star of the canvas, so I did the background in a tone-on-tone repeat for a very subtle effect. I’m not sure what I’m going to do on the black canvas. It’s not in my current rotation, but now I that I’ve looked at the photos again, I may have to work on it again. I do love these pieces!

Hope your day is lovely!

Blessings,

Julie

One thought on “Not much progress…

Leave a Reply

