Day 3 of Japanese Embroidery Class

I am so blessed to have been able to attend this class. It was very good to have a needle (albeit a very sharp needle that drew blood at least twice!) in my hand again.  After this weekend I am probably  a good 4-6 hours away from finishing Phase I.  After putting over a hundred hours into this piece i am thrilled.  My plan is to take it off the frame and have it framed as soon as I’m done.  I will order my Phase 4 metal work piece and the end pieces and will alternate  working on Phase II-III with Phase IV.

Phase II-III is called Sensu and will continue my work with superimposed images, introduce me to more of the 46 stitches of Japanese Embroidery.

Sensu-Phase II-III Complete

Sensu-Phase II-III Complete

Sensu-My Progress:

Phase II-just getting started on basting and foundation layers.

Phase II-just getting started on basting and foundation layers.

I didn’t work on ‘Sensu’ this weekend, because I want to finish Phase I.  It has been on the frame long enough.

As for Phase One, here are my close up photos from today:

Cherry Blossom with leaves completed

Cherry Blossom with leaves completed

I apologize for the poor photo. The blossom and leaves are done in a very light peach, making picture taking difficult in lower light..  This little motif took an unbelieveable amount of time. I put the leaves in twice.  After the diagonal layer foundation is finished, you take the paper core out of a gold metallic thread, combine it with peach flat silk and stitch the vein over the foundation. Then, you make a very tiny twisted thread and couch down the vein, again over the top of the foundation.  It is my first try at this and will remain as a record of where I started.

Since I only stitched a half day today, I had very little time left after finishing the cherry blossom, so I took the core out of more gold metallic and stitched the sprouts on the gold bamboo;

Diagonal layer sprouts on gold bamboo

Diagonal layer sprouts on gold bamboo

At the end of the weekend this was my overall progress:

Before:

Phase I-Progress to date

Phase I-Progress to date

And after:

Phase I as of 9/22/13

Phase I as of 9/22/13

Photo II (after):

After

After

As soon as I decide which Phase IV piece I am going to do, I will post a photo. All of these designs are courtest of the Japanese Embroidery Center.

I am home, the tools of my stitching are put away and now it’s time for homework. But, all in all, this was a great mini-vacation!

I hope each of you had a wonderful weekend.

Blessings,

Julie

One thought on “Day 3 of Japanese Embroidery Class

Leave a Reply

