Excited!

Returning to my Japanese Embroidery lessons after a one year hiatus. I am working on Phases I and II-III and plan to finish Phase I this year. Following are some in progress photos of my work. Please be kind, I am a beginner. 🙂 I have also included fhinished photos, so you can see what I’m trying to acheive.  Thanks for looking….

Phase I-Progress to date

Phase I-Progress to date

Phase I-close up of gold-tipped bamboo and pine

Phase I-close up of gold-tipped bamboo and pine

Close up of bamboo and plum blossoms (some of my very first stitches)

Close up of bamboo and plum blossoms (some of my very first stitches)

Phase II-just getting started on basting and foundation layers.

Phase II-III-just getting started on basting and foundation layers.

These pieces are worked from a chart that looks liike this:

Box Chart

Box Chart

The copyright belongs to:

Copyright

Copyright

The finished pieces look like:

Phase I-Finished

Phase I-Finished

Phase II-II Finished

Phase II-II Finished

In my last post, I spoke about how noticeable incorrectly formed stitches can be when doing surface embroidery. A great case-in-point is some of the stitches on my bamboo leaves.  Just learning how to make the curves on the leaves look natural has taken me hours. However, as a student, I don’t rip these early attempt out because part of my journey of learning is seeing the progression of my skills. And thankfully I do see some improvement, but when I compare my sttiching to that of my teacher (Kay Stanis) or of many of my fellow students, I know I have a lot more practice ahead of  me. 🙂

This technique is a a joy despite its difficulty,  I get to spend my days working with flat silk (which has a glorious shine) on silk ground. I am blessed.

Hope your day is beautiful.

Blessings,

Julie

2 thoughts on “Excited!

  1. Julie, I’m most happy that you are enjoying your lessons, and grateful for your statement that you don’t rip out the mistakes. There are too many people who, in seeking perfection, don’t allow themselves to be reminded of the progress they’ve made. Sometimes when we feel that we are not progressing fast enough or far enough, it’s important to be able to look back and see from whence we have come.

    • Pelagia: I most decidedly agree—and this applies in all walks of life. One of my favorite books is ‘Hinds Feet in High Places’ and I am reminded when, the main character after toiling for many months wonders if she’s getting anywhere, and it is only by looking back that she realizes how far she’s come. Many blessings to you on your upward journey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

